Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Elin 45 posts 166 karma points
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 13:13
    Elin
    0

    How to check if Umbraco Grid has values

    Hi,

    Is there an easy way to verify if the grid in umbraco has value ?

    Basically what I'm trying to do is to check if has any content in it, something similar to the below code but for the grid.

    @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("field-name")
    

    I tried using the grid's field name, but even when the grid is empty, it still come back as if the grid had some invisible values.

    I don't know if it will help but below is a piece of the code that I'm working with; any help will be greatly appreciated.

    @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("section6Title") || CurrentPage.HasValue("section6Subtitle") || CurrentPage.HasValue("section6MainContent")) {
        <div class="stellar-section">
            @Umbraco.RenderMacro("IconListBanner")
        </div><!-- .stellar-section -->
    }
    
  • Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:35
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    Hi Elin,

    I found a similar thread at the forum. Perhaps you can use the approach to check if the grid has a value.

    https://our.umbraco.org/forum/umbraco-7/using-umbraco-7/73346-check-if-umbraco-grid-is-empty

    Hope this helps,

    /Dennis

  • Elin 45 posts 166 karma points
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:42
    Elin
    0

    Hi Dennis,

    Thanks for replying.

    I went through that thread already, and also commented (Last post at the bottom of the thread).

    In brief I need a solution that doesn't involve downloading a package, as things might get too complicated.

    I need something similar to the "HasValue" in order to check if the grid is empty or actually has contents.

  • Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:46
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    Hi Elin,

    Just so we know what exact version of Umbraco are you using?

    Best,

    /Dennis

  • Elin 45 posts 166 karma points
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:48
    Elin
    0

    I'm using Umbraco Cloud, the latest version as far as I know (as it gets updated automatically).

  • Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:50
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    HI Elin,

    Okay I will try to see if I can find a way to check this with out any further packages installed.

    I will come back to you with the results I find.

    Best,

    -Dennis

  • Elin 45 posts 166 karma points
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 18:52
    Elin
    0

    Thanks a lot for your help, I really appreciate it.

  • Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2996 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 19:03
    Anders Bjerner
    1

    I can really recommend using my GridData package. If you're using v2.0 or newer, you can do something like this:

    @using Skybrud.Umbraco.GridData
    @using Skybrud.Umbraco.GridData.Extensions
    @inherits UmbracoTemplatePage
    @{
        Layout = "Master.cshtml";
    
        GridDataModel grid = Model.Content.GetGridModel("content");
    
        if (grid.IsValid) {
            @grid.GetHtml(Html, "fanoe")
        }
    
    }
    

    Anyways, if you haven't installed my package, you can do something like this instead:

    @using Newtonsoft.Json.Linq
    @inherits UmbracoTemplatePage
    @{
        Layout = "Master.cshtml";
    
        JObject grid = CurrentPage.content;
    
        if (grid.SelectTokens("sections[*].rows[*].areas[*].controls").Any()) {
            @CurrentPage.GetGridHtml("content", "fanoe")
        }
    
    }
    

    Umbraco uses an instance of JObject to represent the grid value, and as such we can use the SelectTokens method along with a JPath (similar to XPath, just for JSON) to match the grid controls.

  • Elin 45 posts 166 karma points
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 20:11
    Elin
    0

    Hi Anders,

    I tried your suggestion but I get an error code, see below.

    Cannot implicitly convert type 'Umbraco.Core.Dynamics.DynamicNull' to 'Newtonsoft.Json.Linq.JObject

    I tried replacing the JObject in front of the grid with a var but that didn't do anything.

    I pasted my entire code section below maybe I'm doing something wrong that I can't figure out yet

        @inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
        @inherits System.Web.Mvc.WebViewPage
        @using Newtonsoft.Json.Linq
        @inherits UmbracoTemplatePage
        @{
            Layout = "Template.cshtml";
    
            JObject grid = CurrentPage.content;
    
            if (grid.SelectTokens("sections[*].rows[*].areas[*].controls").Any()) {
                @CurrentPage.GetGridHtml("section1Grid", "Bootstrap3-Fluid")
            }
        }
        @inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
        @using umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web;
        @section HeadContent {
            <link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/dynamic-template.css">
        }
    
        @section BodyContent {
            <!--content-->
            <div id="standard-page-banner" class="stellar-section">
                @Umbraco.RenderMacro("StandardPageBanner")
            </div><!-- #standard-page-banner .stellar-section -->
    
            @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("section1Title") || CurrentPage.HasValue("section1Subtitle") || CurrentPage.HasValue("section1MainContent")) {
                <div id="section-1" class="thumb-box4 light-background">
                    <div class="container">
                        <p class="title wow fadeInDown animated"><strong>@Umbraco.Field("section1Title", casing: RenderFieldCaseType.Upper, convertLineBreaks:true)</strong></p>
                        <p class="sub-title wow fadeInLeft animated">@Umbraco.Field("section1Subtitle", casing: RenderFieldCaseType.Upper, convertLineBreaks:true)</p>
                        <p class="text wow fadeInLeft animated">@Umbraco.Field("section1MainContent", convertLineBreaks: true, removeParagraphTags: true)</p>
                        @CurrentPage.GetGridHtml(Html, "section1Grid", "Bootstrap3-Fluid")
                    </div><!-- .container .wow .fadeInRight -->
                </div><!-- #section-1 .thumb-box4 .light-background -->
            }
    }
    

    I have to say that I've only been using Umbraco for about a year, so I'm still fairly new and there's still a lot for me to learn.

    Thanks

  • Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2996 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 21:08
    Anders Bjerner
    100

    Hi again,

    In my examples, content was the alias of my property, so your code fails because you don't have a property with that alias.

    From the code you've posted, it seems that your property alias is section1Grid, so the line that fails should be this instead:

     JObject grid = CurrentPage.section1Grid;
    

    To be extra sure, you can also add another validation check:

    if (CurrentPage.section1Grid is JObject) {
    
        JObject grid = CurrentPage.section1Grid;
    
        // the rest of your code
    
    }
    

    This will check whether the value of the property is fact of the type JObject.

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies