Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Kevin 18 posts 108 karma points
    Aug 03, 2018 @ 20:31
    Kevin

How do you render data queried by a Surface Controller?

I'm trying to make a search form that will fetch from a table anything that contains the query.

Currently I just want to make the search form interactive where the submit button pulls up the entire table from the database (a name and ID).

I've made a Surface Controller, a ViewModel, and a View/Partial/...

I'm new to MVC so for my understanding:

The Surface Controller is in charge of making the query and passing off the list of results to the View. SurfaceController

The ViewModel turns the table data into an Object with similar properties that can be seen by the View. ViewModel

The View/Partial displays the input and output fields the user will interact with (textboxes, buttons, clickable things).

Is that the right idea?

How do you go from setting up the IEnumerable to outputting the data in a table?

Do I actually call my getPayors() method somewhere?

Because in the examples I've seen around the forum, there was either an ActionResult there or the IEnumerable< > method that wasn't called.

• David Zweben 266 posts 750 karma points
    Aug 04, 2018 @ 17:20
    David Zweben

I'm new to MVC too, so I'm not sure of an exact answer, but hopefully the following will help.

Regarding your questions:

1. The Surface Controller is in charge of making the query and passing off the list of results to the View.

2. The ViewModel turns the table data into an Object with similar properties that can be seen by the View.

3. The View/Partial displays the input and output fields the user will interact with (textboxes, buttons, clickable things).

You're close, but I would put it more like this:

1. The Surface Controller is in charge of making the query and passing off the list of results to the View.