Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Michael McDougall 5 posts 95 karma points
    Oct 11, 2018 @ 23:43
    Michael McDougall

G'day Community,

I am pretty new to Umbraco and have a site for a client, she reached out to me yesterday with an unusual error, It seems to only be happening on the home page and one other page of the site & apparently did not do anything prior to the error occurring.

I am wondering if someone out there is able to help me out with this one please:

Server Error in '/' Application.

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Source Error:

Line 88:

Line 89:

Line 90: @foreach (RelatedLink link in listingPages)

Line 91: {

Line 92:

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Oct 13, 2018 @ 17:23
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Michael and welcome to the Umbraco forum :-)

I have a suspicion that somewhere in the code there is a null check missing - A link that has previously been valid might not be anymore because maybe the document/node it referenced has been deleted.

So if you're able to find the template that is supposed to render the code that triggers this error and paste it in here we should be able to figure out the issue.

From the top of my head I'm guessting that you need to ad an if check around the code so something like the following should do the trick I suspect.

@if(listingsPages.Any()){
    // Loop goes here
    }

But if you can post the full code it's easier to point you in the correct direction :-)

Looking forward to hearing from you!

/Jan

• Michael McDougall 5 posts 95 karma points