Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Martin 7 posts 89 karma points
    Jul 22, 2019 @ 08:21
    Martin

Modelsbuilder - using umbraco types in custom code

I tried posting this question before but it has rendered unreadable so I try again.

I believe my problem originates from a lack of understanding how Modelsbuilder and strong types are to be used/configured. I'm new to Umbraco so the following is my best guess:

I've created DocumentTypeS (HeaderMenu and Footer) with a Template and corresponding Content and wish to use this type in backend custom code. My basic layout for the site is (_Layout.cshtml which is Layout for content Home):

<body>
        <header>
            @{Html.RenderAction("RenderLogin", "Login"); }
            @{Html.RenderAction("RenderHeader", "HeaderMenu", new {model = Model}); } 
            RenderBody()
           @{Html.RenderAction("RenderFooter", "Footer", new {model = Model}); } 

In Web.config I set:

And in App_Data/Models/ I've included like so:

App_data/Models

I know have the following in site.dk\App_Data\TEMP\TypesCache:

Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels.Footer, Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels.HeaderMenu, Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null ... Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels.Footer, MyNameSpace, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels.HeaderMenu, MyNameSpace, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null

which I suspect is the reason for the following error when starting umbraco:

Boot failed: Umbraco cannot run. See Umbraco's log file for more details.