Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• EV 36 posts 147 karma points
    Aug 23, 2019 @ 09:50
    EV

Customizing the default user section

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to Umbraco, so I have quite a few questions but I'll take it one by one.

Due to the nature of the project we have to build, I had to create a custom user table (if anyone has news on the possibilities of adding a field to the umbracoUser table, enlighten me please) with the additional fields our client wants.

Now, what I want to do is to give the client the opportunity to create a user (yes, a user not a member) by filling out those fields too. I wanted to change the "view" (given in the attachment) to add those additional input fields and then in the backend to create an umbracoUser and afterwards a customUser too.

Unfortunately, after browsing through the project structure I was not able to find where is that "view" rendered. The closest thing I found was '~\Umbraco\Views\users\views\users\users.html' which contains an "Add user" part but it seems like it's the actual code part that gets rendered because I tried adding and commenting out sections and there was no change.

Where can I change this view? Any other suggestions?

If you need more details, let me know and I'll provide them.

Thanks for the help!Create user form that I want to modify to add my custom fields

Aug 26, 2019 @ 06:09
    EV

Anyone?

• Shaishav Karnani from digitallymedia.com 354 posts 1638 karma points
    Aug 26, 2019 @ 06:26
    Shaishav Karnani from digitallymedia.com

Hi,

I would suggest not to change the Umbraco User view as that will cause upgrading issues going forward and not a recommended way.

Ideally, you should create a separate User area for your requirement that has standard fields and custom fields. On saving you can store details in User API and use the same id to store additional field in your custom table.