Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mark 14 posts 84 karma points
    Sep 10, 2019 @ 13:57
    Mark

Add Static Text property to footer links

I am very new to Umbraco, I just started working with a company that uses it.

I am trying to edit and existing footer navigation. I want the individual links to have a static text property that goes along with the link.

Currently there are 3 properties for each of the 3 columns in the footer. Title, Default Link, and Menu Items. I would like each column in the Footer to display like so:

Title

Static Text for link 1

Link 1

Static Text for link 2

Link 2

Static Text for link 3

Link 3

So to clarify I want to add a static text property to display above each link in the footer.
    Does anyone know how to go about this?

• Paul Wright (suedeapple) 277 posts 704 karma points
    Sep 10, 2019 @ 14:17
    Paul Wright (suedeapple)

You could just put the static text into the View Template (if it's never going to change)

Or you could make the headings editable by using the Umbraco Dictionary.

This removes the need to make some editable in the Content Tree, and put's them in the dictionary, which "developers" have access to, if they need to be changed.

Sep 10, 2019 @ 14:28
    Mark

Thanks Paul, can you provide details on how to go about that? When you say "view template" are you saying to include static text within the code?

Sep 10, 2019 @ 14:32
    Paul Wright (suedeapple)

Yeah, you can just put it in the VIEW e.g.

<a href="@link.Url">Read More</a>

or you could make it updateable in the umbraco backoffice dictionary by doing something like...

<a href="@link.Url">@Umbraco.GetDictionaryValue("readmore")</a>

Sep 10, 2019 @ 14:42
    Mark