Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ray Mueller 3 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 07:11
    Ray Mueller

Best Practice at using DocTypes

To start with, I have been using DotNetNuke for the last 2-3 years and Umbraco “ROCKS!” Umbraco performs faster and enables inclusion of add-in’s using Microsoft’s .NET methods and practices.

I have a decent understanding of docTypes and templates however I am missing some of the finer best practices.

My approach to creating a look and feel, I think of modules or areas where a functional block can be added to a location on the page. So, at this current point if I want to add multiple HTML presentation areas on the same page then I will need to create a doctype for instance that I want to include.

Example. I want to be able to add two areas in a column where the user can change the content. Each functional block will have a Title and Content. So if I want to enable two functional areas then I will need to create two nearly identical DocTypes in order to different alias names.

It’s almost difficult to explain so I trust that I am making some sense. I am trying to reduce the need to create a bunch of docTypes with the same functionality just to generate difference alias names.

Any insight will be appreciated.

Ray

• Gerty Engrie 130 posts 490 karma points c-trib
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 07:20
    Gerty Engrie

Hi Ray,

if i understand you correctly then master doctypes is probably what you are looking for (only in v4 and higher) :-) It's inheritance between doctypes. You can use any doctype  as a master. You can achieve this when you create your second doctype by selecting your first as master. That way the second one will also have all properties of the first one without you needing to create them.

Was this what you are looking for? :-)

Gerty

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:32