Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Vincent 75 posts 98 karma points
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 21:43
    Vincent

Create DocumentType that can,t be published

Hi, 

I'm new to Umbraco's world and so far, I enjoy this great CMS!

I want to know if it's possible to create a DocumentType that can't be published? What I want to do is to create a list of interests(DocumentType that I don't want my users to publish), that I can use with UltimatePicker or TreeMultiPicker so that I can link all my documents to one or more fiel of interest. I can't create a DataType using a checkbox list because I want them to be hierarchical and possibly add weigth or other value.

If you have any suggestions let me know!

Thx a lot!

• Sascha Wolter 615 posts 1101 karma points
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 00:04
    Sascha Wolter

Hi Vincent,

A very good idea to do it this way, have made use of this technique quite a bit myself so far. Ideal if CMS users will be able to edit/add/delete items in the list themself, sort them etc. However I haven't found yet the need to not publish these item - usually they are not associated with a template, so even if the url is created for them you will not see anything. To be absolutely on the safe side you could add a custom Url rewriting rule which will redirect all these pages e.g. to the homepage. 

In order to prevent the item from being published: I guess you can hook into the Document.AfterPublish event and either prevent publishing or un-publishing immediately afterwards. Don't know if you will see the items in the UltimatePicker or TreeMultiPicker though if they are not published.

Cheers,

Sascha

• Vincent 75 posts 98 karma points
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:12
    Vincent

Hi Sahcha,