Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Deane 14 posts 54 karma points
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 05:03
    Deane

What will I miss if I don't use XSLT?

I'm new to Umbraco.  I have experience with XSLT, but I don't care for it all.  I don't mind XML or XPATH, but I find XSLT to be very clumsy as a language.

I've implemented my first Umbraco site.  To do so, I used .Net server controls and the API (both for my templates and for macros).  I did not use any XSLT.

So, my question is this --

What will I miss by avoiding XSLT?  If there functionality that's only available in the XSLT layer that I won't be able to do with server controls and the API?  My first site seemed to go fine, but I just want to make sure I'm not painting myself into a corner by doing everything without XSLT.

• Chriztian Steinmeier 2798 posts 8788 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 08:59
    Chriztian Steinmeier

Hi Deane,

To the best of my knowledge, there's nothing you can only do with XSLT, and if you don't know (or care to learn) the language, you should go with the ones you already know. Do check out the new Razor stuff - the learning curve should be pretty simple if you're familiar with C# already.

Me? I'm 100% XSLT all the way :-) 

/Chriztian

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 10:37
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Deane

+1 for what Chriztian has written.

If you don't care for XSLT that's ok. You can do without it. Specially with Razor around now. That's the beauty of Umbraco - It is flexible on many levels allowing people to fetch and manipulate data in a way that makes sense to them.