Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Martin 278 posts 662 karma points
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 14:32
    Martin

Repeat Content Block - Newbie Question

Hi there,

Complete newbie to xslt (working my way through umbraco.tv).

I have a page where i want to display multiple addresses.

I want the user to be able to select "add new address" and then be able to fill in relevent fields. I get this is a docutype, where i create the fields only once.

But how do I set up a UI to allow the user to add an address. I guessing a macro.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a tutorial?

Thanks

Martin

• Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 14:54
    Tom Fulton

Hi Martin,

There's a few different approaches you can use:

- Sub Documents
    This would involve creating a Document Type called "Address" and allowing it to be created under your page.  The Address doctype would have all the relevant fields and the user could then create as many as they like beneath your page.  You could then easily loop through them with an XSLT macro on your main page like so:

<xsl:for-each select="$currentPage/Address">
    <xsl:value-of select="address1"/><br/><xsl:value-of select="concat(city, ', ', state, ' ', zip)"/>
    </xsl:for-each>

- "Repeatable Datatype"
    There are a few packages available that offer the "repeating" functionality you are looking for.  Embedded Content would probably suit you well.  Basically you would create an Embedded Content Datatype, add your Address fields to it, then add the datatype to your page's Document Type.  The Embedded Content control allows editors to add as many addresses as they like right from the page.  The control stores it's data in XML so it's easy to access in XSLT similar to the above example.

<xsl:for-each select="$currentPage/yourEmbeddedContentPropertyAlias/data/item">