Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• David Bartholomew 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 01:40
    David Bartholomew

MasterPages problems...

Hello there Umbraco community, I am pretty new to Umbraco, .Net, and xslt, but have been frantically trying to absorb as much info as possible in as little time as possible. I have just inherited a website that was developed using xslt macros in Umbraco 3.0.3.

Long story short, I failed at attempts to upgrade the system  to the current Umbraco build (and due to serious problems with the current database, I've decided we shouldn't even if I could) and have been moving content from the old to the new over the past week or so. I was able to dowload a package that converted the old xslt files to the new standard, and did that successfully.  One of the main problems I ran into was that the templates were using a syntax not supported anylonger ( <?UMBRACO_MACRO macroAlias="...etc), and after doing some research, I found the new syntax ( <umbraco:Macro Alias="...etc) and so I went about changing all of the tags in each Template.

<?UMBRACO_TEMPLATE_LOAD_CHILD/>

I replaced with 

<asp:ContentPlaceHolder runat="server" id="childContent" /> 

and in nested templates I wrapped the content in

<asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderID="childContent" runat="server"></asp:Content> 

(The xslt files arent working properly either, unless I drop the "NiceUrl" and put in the direct path.)

The stack trace error I get is the following

Master template is the same as the current template. It would course an endless loop!

[HttpException (0x80004005): Content controls have to be top-level controls in a content page or a nested master page that references a master page.]
    System.Web.UI.MasterPage.CreateMaster(TemplateControl owner, HttpContext context, VirtualPath masterPageFile, IDictionary contentTemplateCollection) +670