Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dan White 206 posts 510 karma points c-trib
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 18:46
    Dan White

Questions about nodes, trees, & best practices

Greetings,

I'm fairly new to Umbraco and am just blown away by the power and customization that it offers. Really an amazing system. However, with that freedom, I realize comes a lot more options to screw up.

I am a developer for a college and have the task of redeveoping the entire college site on a new CMS ( I have chosen Umbraco ). I am currently in the planning stage and have a couple questions on best practices.

1. How does a large content tree impact backoffice performance? What suggestions would you give for a very large site?

2. I've seen mention of 'data nodes'. Apparently, content nodes that do not display pages? I've found very little on this, but would like to know to what they are referring to and how they are used.

3. Being a college we'll have a variety of content that belongs to individual departments as well as the college as a whole. I'm at a loss on how to structure these in the system.

Example:
    Staff bios, campus events, news articles, etc. Departments will want to display staff bios on their individual deptmant pages, but the college will also need an all encompassing staff page. Obvisouly, we'd like to avoid duplicate data, so what would be the best approach to this?