Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• James Billingham 5 posts 25 karma points
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 20:12
    James Billingham

Single page portfolio

Heyho, noob here.

I'm really liking Umbraco, but struggling a bit to work out how to make it work for my needs. I've found that I never ever make "normal" websites, so I have no experience of how to do the standard way of doing it tbh.

I'm making a portfolio which contains multiple "pages" but they're all presented in one single HTML page. I want to be able to add more and remove them with Umbraco though, editing them looking as though they're individual HTML pages.

So to try and explain better what I'm aiming at:-

• End users will receive one single page which has multiple "pages" inside it.
    • In the admin panel, I will see multiple individual pages which I can add to or remove from as I wish.
    Any pointers as to how I should go about this?
    Thanks. :)

Nov 12, 2011 @ 20:30
    James Billingham

Warren sensibly suggested that providing some screenshots of what I've got so far would be helpful, so I have included three, as follows:

My document types:

The Home section will also have some featured Portfolio items. Would this be best achieved with a macro and a yes/no flag on each PortfolioItem?

The template I have:

I think I'll end up wanting to have templates for displaying inner "pages".

(Sorry that image is so big...) 

And this is the content I have put in so far:

I'd like to make it so that the child pages aren't actually accessible without being included in the main page, but this isn't particularly important.

• Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 22:08
    Warren Buckley

Hi James,
    I think I understand the structure of the page/site you want to build.