Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• MartinB 411 posts 512 karma points
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 09:13
    MartinB

Content placeholder in a content placeholder

Hi there

I have a master with some content placeholders that load content through content placeholders from either the Homepage or the regular textpages, since they differ quite a bit.

Though i have some elements that would repeat, but as of now, not so much that i can put them in the master file.

Is it possible to have a content placeholder in an existing placeholder to load content from a "mini" template?

I tried the following with no succes:

<asp:content contentplaceholderid="content" runat="server">
        <div class="contentFrontpage">
            <div class="left">
                <asp:contentplaceholder id="questions" runat="server"></asp:contentplaceholder>             
            </div>
            <div class="right">
                <umbraco:item runat="server" field="bodyText"></umbraco:item>
            </div>
            <div class="clear"></div>
        </div>
    </asp:content>
  • Ernst Utvik 123 posts 235 karma points
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 09:40
    Ernst Utvik

I think that would work as long as you create a template with the master template set to the template containing the contentplaceholder.

Something like this, where the markup from your question lies in the submaster and the templates below only reflects changes in the questions contentplaceholder:

- Master template
        - template
        - submaster
            - template
        -template

Dec 08, 2011 @ 09:54
    MartinB

Hi Ernst

My structure now looks like this:

Master
       - Homepage
           -Questions
       - Textpage

In my master i have a contentplaceholder for the content field:

<asp:contentplaceholder id="content" runat="server"></asp:contentplaceholder>

The on the Homepage master i have the following: