Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dieter Walckiers 9 posts 29 karma points
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 18:28
    Dieter Walckiers

Master template properties not being used in child template

Hello community!

I have a beginners question on which I couldn't find the answer.

I have a master template like so:

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/masterpages/Authentic.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderId="BodyContent" runat="server">
       <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" >
    <head>
        <title>Your Page Title Here</title>
      </head>
      <body style="background-color:<umbraco:Item field='bgcolor' runat='server'/>">
      <umbraco:Item field="achtergrondkleur" runat="server" />
      master body
    <asp:ContentPlaceHolder Id="RootContent" runat="server">
      <!-- Insert default "RootContent" markup here -->
    </asp:ContentPlaceHolder>
      </body>
      </html>
    </asp:Content>

and a child template:

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/masterpages/Root.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderId="RootContent" runat="server">
    child body
    </asp:Content>

They both have document types with the same names, and "bgcolor" is a valid property of the corresponding document type for the master template.

Then, I add content; a page based on the master, and a subpage based on the child template, and set the bgcolor property of the master page to "#FF0000" for example. When I launch the master page, the background color is nicely red. But when I view the child page, it stays blank.

I was expecting that the background color for the child page would also be red, as the master and child page are being merged?