Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Roman 4 posts 24 karma points
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 10:28
    Roman

Pages in steps/sequence

Hi Guys,

Merry Christmas to Everyone!

I'm just a newbie in Umbraco, I just got an idea of how the fundamentals work(document types, templates, macros) from the videos and I am just wondering if anyone can give me a suggestion (even on high level). I am looking at creating a pages that should be viewed in sequence (i.e. you can't view page #3 not unless you have viewed page #1 or #2).

I'd really appreciate your thoughts big time, consider it as a Christmas present for me :)

Thanks!

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 11:29
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Roman and welcome to our.

Merry christmas to you too :)

To make a sequence like this you would setup the node structure like this in the content tree

Root node
        Sequence 1
        Sequence 2
        Sequence 3
        Sequence 4
        etc.

Then you should have a macro to create the navigation where you could select the "root node" as a starting point and then on page 1 go and find Sequence 2's id and put it in umbraco.library:NiceUrl(@id), to get the URL.

If you're on Sequence 2 and 3 you should be able to get the url for the previous sibling and next sibling. And when on Sequence 4 you should be able to get the previous child only.

Hope this helps and inspires a bit :)

/Jan

• Roman 4 posts 24 karma points
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 16:32
    Roman

Thank you very Jan for the very quick response!