Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Daniel 9 posts 29 karma points
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 13:56
    Daniel

Skin is being updated??

Hi guys,

I'm new to Umbraco, and started out whit 4.80.
    I've followed the steps in http://umbraco.com/help-and-support/video-tutorials/getting-started/installing-umbraco/TVPlayer and installed the starter, but I can't get around this "Skin is being updated..."

So, I never see the skin I chose at installation, and I'm always asked to install a new skin, and when I try to install, i only get the text "Skin is being updated..." and nothing happens.

Here is a picture of my screen: http://tinyurl.com/8m7ncgh

Please help me out. Thanks in advance!
    Daniel

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 21:27
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Daniel

I'm suspicious that your permissions are not correct.

Are you trying to install Umbraco manually?

/Jan

Aug 16, 2012 @ 21:46
    Daniel

Hi Jan,

Thanks for helping me!
    I think you are right, also because my xslt-folder is empty.
    Right now I run everything through Visual Web Developer 2010 Express and Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio.
    Later i will try to install it manually on my Surftown-webhotel, but it seems like their guide to installation will be manually and a bit complicated... :-)

Do I have to run Firefox as an administrator?
    I had no problems writing to web.config in the root during the installation.

It's my wish to work with Umbraco and try to migrate some of my ASP websites when I fully understand how it works.

/Daniel

Aug 17, 2012 @ 06:44
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Daniel

That's what it's all about :)

If you want to install Umbraco manually you should read this guide by Sebastiaan Janssen (The new project manager at Umbraco HQ). http://cultiv.nl/blog/2011/7/18/how-to-install-umbraco-manually/