Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris D 17 posts 37 karma points
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 22:14
    Chris D

Simple Page Structure (Header/Body/Footer)

I am struggling trying to understand this. All i want to know is, If i have a site.. with a header body and footer sections, and i am setting this up in Umbraco. How would i do it?

So for example i have a Master Page which is my default. I want to include the footer and header onto the master page, whether it's by a Macro or by a seperate template. Can someone clarify this?

• Brendan Rice 538 posts 1100 karma points
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 15:11
    Brendan Rice

Templates map directly to master pages, they are essentially the same thing. Just use templates liek you would use masterpages.

Macros are more for components e.g. navigation

If you are still struggling have a look at some of the starter kits, look at how they structure things.

Hope that helps

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 15:36
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Chris,

I will give Brendan right, a good way to learn things in Umbraco would be to install one of the starter kits, and learn stuff from there.

Another good alternative would be to watch introduction videos, about some basic stuff in Umbraco. You can find the videoes on Umbraco.tv.

http://umbraco.com/help-and-support/video-tutorials/introduction-to-umbraco.aspx

I hope the link to the introduction videos to help you, in addition to what Brendan already written

/Dennis

Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:20
    Chris D

Okay. I have yet to try one of the starter kits, so i will give that a shot next. I seem to get more understanding about the backend functions by doing Cart Starter Sites. 

Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:39
    Chris D

THANK YOU.. thank you. This explains it a whole lot better. Allot more is clearer now. when it comes to simple structure.

Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:48
    Brendan Rice