Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jonathan Meuth 5 posts 25 karma points
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 16:38
    Jonathan Meuth

Content codebehind editing

First off, I am still very new to Umbraco, but I was able to get quite a bit done so far, but I have run into a problem.

I am trying to use jquery to make ajax calls back to a method on a page.  I was able to successfully get it to work outside of Umbraco.  The problem is when I create a new content page in Umbraco, I need the ability to create a custom web method so that one of my controls can request the information I need using jquery.  So basically, I need to be able to add to the codebehind of the content page.  How can I do this?  Also, same question for a master page.  

• Tom Madden 253 posts 455 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 17:42
    Tom Madden

If you create an asp.net Usercontrol and then create a Macro using that usercontrol, you can add the usercontrol to either a template or within a richtexteditor and therfor get access to the code behind of the usercontrol. If you go down the richteteditor route, you need to select a checkbos within the Macro to allow it to be used in the editor.

HTH

Tom

Aug 28, 2009 @ 19:55
    Jonathan Meuth

When you post back to a web method, you have to post back to the page.  You cannot post back to the user control.  Does the way you mention allow you to add a method to the code behind of the page? 

I am not sure I followed what you said.  When I add the macro to the richtexteditor, it says that it cannot be rendered because it contains script.  If I go into html edit mode, it just has the text saying that it cannot be rendered because it contains script.  Btw, my usercontrol does have javascript in it.  Am I following the steps you mentioned correctly? 

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 20:47
    Dirk De Grave