Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mikael Mørup 297 posts 326 karma points
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 15:06
    Mikael Mørup

Multiple forms in templates ?

I have a master template with a form tag with runat="server", and a sub template with another form tag, like shown here:

Master template (only a fraction shown here):

<form id="test" runat="server">

<asp:ContentPlaceHolder Id="MasterPlaceholder" runat="server">

<!-- sub template inserted here -->

</asp:ContentPlaceHolder>
    </form>

Sub template (only a fraction shown here) :

<form id="Form" action="http://localhost/xxx.aspx" method="get">

</form>

When clicking the submit button belonging to the form in the subtemplate, nothing happens, except the page is reloaded, i would have expected that i was sent to the xxx.aspx page.

Is it wrong to have two nested forms like this ?

If so, is there a workaround ?

Thanks

Mikael

• dandrayne 1138 posts 2262 karma points
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 15:58
    dandrayne

Id only insert the first <form id="test" runat="server"> around where it is needed (such as a contact form macro etc).  Forms cant be nested, so I dont think there's another workaround

• Sjors Pals 617 posts 270 karma points
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 16:51
    Sjors Pals

Just remove the second form, if there is one in your Mastertemplate you don't need a second one, you can create different handlers for different submits.

• Nik Wahlberg 639 posts 1237 karma points MVP
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 17:02
    Nik Wahlberg

If you need to subit your form to another URL (other than a PostBack) look into using PostBackUrl on the button. As mentioned, multiple forms are not allowed (at least not nested). Or, you might be able to use GET instead of POST to pass your attribute values.

Hope this helps,
    Nik

Sep 14, 2009 @ 21:23
    Mikael Mørup