Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Peter Colemonts 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 12:57
    Peter Colemonts

Can't select mastertemplate

http://www.threes.be/wnl/2013-06-26_1247.png

Hi,

I'm new to umbraco. Worked before with other cms systems like drupal and smartsite ixperion.

I was following a video tutorial about creating the first website in umbraco, but it seems that i'm stuck at selecting a master template for the template Hone.

When i go to the template Home -> select the master template -> Save. Reload all nodes and select the home template again. The mastertemplate : 'Master' isn't selected anymore. Also when i want to insert the contentplaceholders from the master in the home template, it doesnt recognized the contentholders. I followed the video 2 times, but i came to this same issue twice.  Check picturen link above.

Can someone help me. Is there something that i've done wrong?

Thanks in advanced!

KR,

Peter

• Roni Biran 4 posts 24 karma points
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 13:46
    Roni Biran

Hi Peter,

From what I hear, you're trying to set a master template to your master template.

Try the following path:

1. Create a template under the "Templates" call it, let's say "Master"
      it should look something like this:
      <%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/umbraco/masterpages/default.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>

<asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderID="ContentPlaceHolderDefault" runat="server">

</asp:Content>

2. Now you can add content place holders in it, so it can look like this:
      <%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/umbraco/masterpages/default.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>

<asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderID="ContentPlaceHolderDefault" runat="server">

<asp:ContentPlaceHolder Id="content1" runat="server" />

</asp:Content>

3. Create an additional template under the Master template, let's call it "Content"