Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mikael Syska 24 posts 91 karma points
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 01:28
    Mikael Syska

Specify default page to be loaded.

Hi,

I'm new to umbraco ... so this might be a easy thing.

I have some content like this:

• Content
    • * MySite
    • ** News
    • *** First news
    • *** Second news
    • ** Contact

The stars in the structure above note the level ...

The news page uses a macro to print the news ... it works great. But when I use the same Template for the "MySite", ofcause it dont work, since it now parses the "News/Contact" as the 2 nodes, instead of "First news/Second news" as the 2 nodes.

So ... other than specify absuloute path in the XLTS file to get the news items, what can I do ?

I want the MySite/News page to be 100% the same ... so other work arounds are also welcome ...

• skiltz 501 posts 701 karma points
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 01:43
    skiltz

Crate a new XSLT file and take a look at the "List Sub Pages from a Changleable Source" template in the dropdownlist.  This wil allow you to specify the nodeid to which to load the "news" from.

• Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2196 karma points MVP
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 02:07
    Kim Andersen

So actually you want to list all news items on your site, on "MySite" and "News", right?

If that is what you want, you can with XSLT, show all items with a certain template. I guess that all of your news-nodes have a special template?

If this is what you want you can use this XSLT:

<xsl:for-each select="$currentPage//node[@template='the_templateID']">
    ---do something---
    </xsl:for-each>

Remember to change the_templateID with the actual ID number. Well, I hope this gives you an idea of how it could be solved. And if you don't know anything about XSLT, speak up, and we will find a solution for this as well :)

Oct 18, 2009 @ 04:01
    Mikael Syska

Hi,

2 possible solutions ...