Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ben Merrick 12 posts 32 karma points
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 13:29
    Ben Merrick

StyleSheet is not applying all properties

I am new to Umbraco, so this may be a minor problem that i have yet to find a solution to.  I have a stylesheet names Styles that houses all of my CSS information.  The problem is that only certain parts of the stylesheet are working while others are not.  When I apply this same stylesheet in Visual Studio, it works perfectly fine.  Has anyone else ran into the problem before?  Here are a few basic bits of information that may be able to help you help me:

Browser:  Internet Explorer 8

Umbraco Version:  4.0.2.1

• Sjors Pals 617 posts 270 karma points
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 13:39
    Sjors Pals

Do you use firebug extension for FireFox? It's an extremely strong tool to check these kind of problems.

• dandrayne 1138 posts 2262 karma points
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:02
    dandrayne

I'd run your final css through this ->  http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

Sounds a lot like what happens when you miss a closing }

#stuff {
    font-size: 100px;

.uh_oh {
    broken: yes
    }

Dan

Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:08
    Ben Merrick

I ran my css file through the validator and it turned up no errors.  Funny thing is that it all works when I remove certain properties from my css file and apply them directly into the templates by removing the class property from the tag and replacing it with a sytle property which has the exact same style, much like this:

<td class="MySample"> - Doesn't work

<td style="background-image: url(images/MyImage.jpg")> - Works

Strange...

• Rasmus Berntsen 215 posts 253 karma points c-trib
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:16
    Rasmus Berntsen

I've never had such a problem in Umbraco... Same problem in a different browser?

Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:21
    dandrayne