Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• musab 4 posts 24 karma points
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 12:06
    musab

I'm so new to Umbraco I have 2 queations

Hi,

I am a web developer usually use php and wordpress to develop web sites, I had a project that has to be done, using Umbraco and I have two questions:

1. I have read this tutorial about creating forms:

http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Reference/Mvc/forms

It is saying to create a view model, surface Controller, but where do I create them? In addition, how? Where do I paste that code they gave?

2. How do I install a theme if I just purchase one?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 12:17
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi musab and welcome to our :)

What version of Umbraco are you using?

1: You'll need to download Visual Studio (The express edition or web developer edition are free and should be fine). But if you're working on an older version of Umbraco (v 4.9 or older) this guide is of no use since MVC was first introduced in version 4.10.

2: There is no marketplace for Umbraco themes that I'm aware of at least. But depending on the functionality you need perhaps the themes that are possible to choose from in the installation progress is sufficient

But Umbraco is not working like Wordpress so you will need to learn a lot of basics and also change your mindset to understand Umbraco I think.

Currently the best place to start learning all of the concepts in Umbraco is at http://umbraco.tv

Hope this helps.

/Jan

• musab 4 posts 24 karma points
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 13:35
    musab

Hi Jan,

Thanks for your reply

I'm currently using Microsoft WebMatrix locally on my machine, what version shout that be ? looking at my about tab on the right top it says 6..xxx

Also I have found some tempaltes here http://bindtuning.com/cms/umbraco