Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jordy van Eijk 7 posts 51 karma points
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 20:31
    Jordy van Eijk

Convert HTML5 template to Umbraco Site (Proof Of Concept)

Hi all, i'm quite new to Umbraco and as a proof of concept i want to translate an HTML5 template to an Umbraco website. The Template i bought is not the most simple one, but i think it's good to see how much time and effort it will take to translate it. I have a good understanding of MVC1 to 5 but i'm wondering if i need to use this. Razor is no problem.

The template can be seen here: Template the main issue i'm facing is how to start. What is a good way to create the document types. Is it wise for me to have an hierarchical structure in my site lets say.

• Home
      • Trips
        • Roadtrips
        • USA
        • Europe
        • Citytrips
        • USA
        • Specials
        • USA

where the countries are again subnodes of the triptypes.

Or do i need to make some stupid folder and fix that inside my templates?

The next question is if you take a look at Pages --> Details page, this is the detail page of a trip / hotel what is the best way for me to Create my DocumentType. Do i need to create some hierarchical structure inside my document type with a lot of tabs or do i need to make a single documenttype with its own template and tell the main trip document type to have those as subitems.

I hope somebody can help me with these questions. So i can go on with my proof of concept.

Kind Regards, Jordy van Eijk PS: I'm using Umbraco 7.1.1

• Sunshine Lewis 31 posts 140 karma points c-trib
    May 03, 2014 @ 20:59
    Sunshine Lewis

Hi Jordy,

Your content hierarchy will be separate/different from your document type hierarchy (which can/will be different from your template hierarchy).