Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Omer Javed 5 posts 25 karma points
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 08:56
    Omer Javed

Translating html design into document types and templates

Hello,

I am new to umbraco development and I have a basic query. I have received the design of my home page from the graphics designer in the form of html. Please tell what is the expert recommendation about creating document types and templates. Should there be one document type per page in the website? What is the criteria where we could have more than one doc types for a single page may be for re-usability? I am a bit confused as i start translating the html design into umbraco. Please provide guidance.

Many Thanks,
    Omer Javed

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 09:11
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Omer and welcome to our,

I would try to answser your questions the best I can. The way I usually do it is by first create a master document type and template. On the master document type I creates all the common fields that you have on every page. Such as heading. page content. SEO fields, and fields for navigation title and the opportunity to hide pages from navigations.

On the master template I will place all the common HTML, such as header footer and so on. So to your question about  if you shoud create document types for a single page. I would say that you should create document types for each unique page. It could be a textpage newslist overview, news item and so on.

Since you´re new to Umbraco I would recommend you to take a look at these great videos tutorials, they are showing the basic concepts working with Umbraco..http://umbraco.tv/videos/umbraco-v7/implementor/

There you can see videos about working with document types and templates, and so on.