Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• nadine 25 posts 75 karma points
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 07:35
    nadine

RSS Feed Template not displaying

I'm fairly new to Umbraco and I'm trying to get an RSS Feed working have tried for hours and have had no success.

I've got Warren Buckley's CWS2 package installed.

Steps so far:

1. Created XSLT file: (newslist2.xslt) from the RSS Feed Template (also created macro)
    2. Added parameters for number of items, title and description to the macro
    3. Put macro variables into XSLT file

This is where it gets blurry for me...

Ideally I want it displayed on my home page

I've tried inserting the macro into the home page template as part of the SideBarContent by referencing it by its alias. It just put the url in and then starts to display content from another page of the site.

I've tried putting it into it's own template and making it a sub template. Nothing

Am I missing something conceptually here as I can't get Warren's to work either?

• wolulcmit 357 posts 693 karma points
    Dec 13, 2009 @ 13:09
    wolulcmit

Hi Nadine,

I might be able to help, having just played around with this too.....

The default feed template should do the trick... I did have to make one alteration to get the browser to recognise it as a valid rss feed though, which was to remove this line: <xsl:text disable-output-escaping="yes">&lt;?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?&gt;</xsl:text>
    and instead put that line in the template for your rss feed - for example:

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="/umbraco/masterpages/default.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderID="ContentPlaceHolderDefault" runat="server"><?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?>
    <umbraco:Macro Alias="RSS_feed" runat="server"></umbraco:Macro>
    </asp:Content>