Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sunitha 9 posts 29 karma points
    May 19, 2015 @ 08:26
    Sunitha

Articles and parent page

Hi Team,

I am new to Umbraco and learning it through tutorials.("our.umbraco.org"). 

I am using Umbraco 7.2.4.

Now I am reading  with "Articles Parent and Article Items- A Parent page with Infinite Children". While working with it, I am not able to understand the following information.

"Let's go update our templates we just created (automatically when we created the Document Types). First update them to use the Master as a parent Settings > Templates > Articles Main node > Properties tab > Master template dropdown = "Master" - do the same for the Articles Item remembering to click Save."

I have created 4 Articles in Content under HomePage --> Articles.( assume A, B, C, D) According to the above tutorial, It is saying to add all the 4 artiles ( assume A, B, C, D) as child nodes to Articles main node. But in Templates, those are not showing. Is I need to add them in Document type so that can see in Templates?? 

Or there is any other way or I am not able to understand it clearly.

Follwing is the pic of my umbraco

Please guide me.

Thanks in advance

Sunitha

• Urvish 252 posts 776 karma points
    May 19, 2015 @ 08:39
    Urvish

Hi Sunitha,

In this case you need to check the document type of the Article node and also child nodes.

When you create Document Type , there is a checkbox below Create matching template.

If you check this then it will automatically create Template of the Document type.

You have created 4 child nodes. Their document type is same or not?

If your document type is same than there will not be 4 templates.

And if it is different than you can have 4 templates.

Also there is another way to can manually create template under the main Article template and select that template in document type in below section.