Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• prl 32 posts 54 karma points
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 18:37
    prl

Using Master Templates

Hello,

I'm completely new to Umbraco and I've been lurking around the OurUmbraco website and forums absorving information on this. I understand the notion of of Document Types and Templates and I'm trying to a simple example to test these funcionalities. I'm trying to create a simple website, with a homepage and two text pages. The structure is as follows:

-------------------
    |      Header     |
    -------------------
    |     Content     |
    |                 |
    | (Homepage) |
    |  (Text page 1)  |
    |  (Text page 2)  |
    -------------------
    |      Footer     |
    -------------------

I want to create a Master Template to have all the things that are common to every single page, in this case the Header and Footer. Also the Master Template has the <html> and <body> tags and all the links to css stylesheets so that the child templates only have the html code that matters to each one. This is where I'm having some conceptual difficulties right now. What structure should I have for achieving this?

Document Types:
    - Homepage
    - Textpage

Templates:
    - Master
      |- Homepage
      |- Textpage

I guess this is pretty simple. My problem resides on the Master Template. I want to have something like:

<html>
    <head>
    <title></title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <!-- HEADER GOES HERE -->

<!-- CONTENT GOES HERE -->

<!-- FOOTER GOES HERE -->
    </body>
    </html>

I could insert the html code for the Header and Footer directly in the Master Template right? But I want to have them in separate templates. Can I do this and then refer to those templates in the Master Template? Do I need to have a Document Type for the Header and Footer?

Sorry for the big post, and thanks in advance for your attention.