Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Klaus Bergh 8 posts 76 karma points
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 13:11
    Klaus Bergh

Tutorial for using list view for creating a news page

Hi

I am new to umbraco, but i hope someone can help me creating a simple newspage

What i think is a page with the headlines listet, and when my user click this headline they will se the full history.

Is this possible?

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 13:20
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Klaus,

Yes this is possible. What you need to do is is to creating a document type for a News overview page, if you want this and then a document type for the news item.

See this video chapter of how Umbraco document types are working in Umbraco.

https://umbraco.tv/videos/umbraco-v7/implementor/fundamentals/document-types/what-is-a-document-type/

When this is in place then you need to write some code to get the data out. It could be Razor. In Umbraco you will find some Razor pre-code snippets, and if you are doing the setup with an overview page where you have the news items as children, then you can use the Razor code below.

@{ var selection = CurrentPage.Children.Where("Visible"); }

@if (selection.Any())
    {
        <ul>
            @foreach (var item in selection)
            {
                <li>
                    <a href="@item.Url">@item.Name</a>
                </li>
            }
        </ul>
    }

With this could will get the node name of the news item and a link to the news item. If you have some custom properties then you can call it regarding to the example above @item.AliasOfCustomProperty.

Hope this helps and make sense, if not donĀ“t hessite to ask again.

/Dennis

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 13:22
    Dennis Aaen