Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Matt Taylor 873 posts 2086 karma points
    May 17, 2010 @ 21:43
    Matt Taylor

Possible to display two content items on the same page?

Hello,

I'm new to Umbraco and this is my first post although I do have some experience with other CMS systems.

I'm wondering if it is possible to do the following...

I'd like to create a document type called "Sport" that simply has a Title property and a BodyText property.

Then I'd like to create two content items that use this "Sport" document type, one called "Rugby" and the other called "Cricket".

Is it possible to then create a Template that will display both of these content items on a single rendered page side by side?

Thank you,

Matt

• Tommy Poulsen 514 posts 708 karma points
    May 17, 2010 @ 22:17
    Tommy Poulsen

Hi Matt, and welcome to the forum

Sure it's possible.

Say you have a content node setup like this:

- sport
      - rugby
      - cricket

You could choose to render the sport-node by rendering it's subnodes using an xslt macro (or inline xslt). In your Sport-Template you would add a macro call:

<umbraco:Macro Alias="ShowMyChildren" runat="server"></umbraco:Macro>

And in your ShowMyChildren macro you would add something like this:

<xsl:for-each select="$currentPage/node">

Title: <xsl:value-of select="@nodeName"/><br/>

Text: <xsl:value-of select="data [@alias = 'BodyText']"/><br/>

</xsl:for-each>

But you probably want to check out documentation on setting up content nodes, templates and macros.

>Tommy

May 18, 2010 @ 11:42
    Matt Taylor

Thanks Tommy,

That's useful to know.

I've seen the videos on Document Types and templates so far. XSLT and Macros will be next.

I'm used to a page based CMS and developing web user controls so this content based architecture and XSLT is quite a steep learning curve for me but I will get there.