Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andria Duncan 14 posts 36 karma points
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 01:22
    Andria Duncan

Artisteer ASP.NET template?

Hi.  When I was first reading about this CMS, one thing I really liked was when it said that you could basically use anything to create your pages and page designs.  I have this template/theme/skin maker called Artisteer, which makes a wide variety of different kinds of all those things, for a wide variety of blogs, CMSs, and will even create an ASP.NET template in C# with a masterpage, stylesheets (3 different ones, since there are variants for IE6 and IE7), graphics, and everything -- can this be used in umbraco, and if so, could someone point me at some tutorial or other, because I'm really a complete newbie with ASP.NET stuff, and just installed umbraco late last night, so I'm still trying to get a handle on it. 

Does the name "masterpage" imply what it sounds like, that it can be used as the basis of every page you create in this CMS?  with those attached stylesheets, of course!

Thx much,

Andria

• sun 403 posts 395 karma points
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 02:44
    sun

If you don't know html and css, Artisteer is not' very suitable for you. you can read more at its site. This is not a problem about umbraco.

• Paul Sterling 718 posts 1534 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 03:08
    Paul Sterling

Hi Andria -

It is true that you can use nearly any html to create templates in Umbraco.  Many folks have used templates originally created for WrodPress and other platforms as Umbraco templates.  I am not certain the Artisteer 'master page' is the same as an Umbraco "master page" but it very well may be as Umbraco uses ASP.NET MasterPages for its templates.

I'd encourage you to give it it a try by simply pasting the Artisteer html into an Umbraco template(s) and see how it goes.  There's no reason it won't work.