Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dacre 2 posts 33 karma points
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 11:45
    Dacre

Can't reload AngularJS Controller for custom data type

I'm relatively new to AngularJS and I'm trying to make a simple extension to Umbraco 7.0.4 by creating a custom data type.

I've followed this guide: http://umbraco.github.io/Belle/#/tutorials/CreatingAPropertyEditor and have made a simple datatype.

The problem I'm having is that Umbraco doesn't seem to reload my controller.js script for ny custom datatype. It loads once (initially), however any changes I make to the script from then on aren't applied - it's as if the script isn't updated within Umbraco following the first time the plugin/datatype is seen by Umbraco.

I've tried recycling the app pool, resetting the application, resetting the server, publishing the website, etc, etc, and nothing seems to work.

Please help me!! :-)

• Jeroen Breuer 4908 posts 12265 karma points MVP 4x admin c-trib
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 12:03
    Jeroen Breuer

Hello,

This is probably a cache problem. More info in the release note: http://our.umbraco.org/contribute/releases/704

"Google Chrome has notoriously aggressive caching, so if something doesn't seem to work well in the backoffice, make sure to clear cache and cookies thoroughly (for other browsers as well). 

One way to nudge the cache in Chrome is to open the developer tools (F12) and go to the settings (the cog icon). There will be a checkbox that says "Disable cache (while DevTools is open)". Once this checkbox is on you can refresh the page and the cache should be invalidated. To force it even more, the "reload" button next to your address bar now has extra options when you right-click it. It should have "Normal reload", "Hard reload" and "Empty cache and hard reload" now. The last option is the most thorough and you might want to try that."