Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 15, 2014 @ 09:34
    nojaf
    0

    Visual Studio 2013 Update 2 package.manifest intellisense

    With the new update to VS 2013, would there be a way to have intellisense when editing a package.manifest file?

  • Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13632 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    May 15, 2014 @ 09:36
  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 15, 2014 @ 11:17
    nojaf
    0

    Jup, sure looks like it. Kudos to Warren.

    But how can I tell VS that a package.manifest file is actually a json file?

  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 16, 2014 @ 12:12
    nojaf
    2

    Found it, in VS just search for file extensions

    enter image description here

  • Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13632 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    May 16, 2014 @ 12:49
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Awesome, going to setup that up!

    Thanks

  • Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 14:53
    Jason Espin
    0

    Hi Jeavon,

    This may be a slightly stupid question, but how do you plug that gist into Visual Studio so that the Intellisense actually works?

    Cheers,

    Jason

  • Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13632 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:00
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Hi Jason,

    You add a $schema at the top of the file. e.g.

    {
      "$schema" :  "http://schemastore.org/schemas/json/package.manifest.json",
      "propertyEditors": [
    

    Also please note the update to the schema url in the above snippet.

    Jeavon

  • Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:21
    Jason Espin
    0

    This isn't adding Intellisense for me.

  • Jeavon Leopold 3074 posts 13632 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:24
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Did the elements change colour or is all the content all black in VS?

  • Søren Reinke 158 posts 206 karma points c-trib
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 07:46
    Søren Reinke
    0

    I tried it also.

    I get coloring of the elements, but no intellisense.

    And i get a green line under each of the first chars, telling me 'Missing a membername before the colon (':') in the "(name) : (value)" object member'

    And this part:

        javascript: [

            '~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js'

        ]

     

    I get an 'unexpected character sequence in array element value' from the link to the controller.js file.

    My manifest works fine. 

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 12:35
    Warren Buckley
    0

    Hello all
    Thanks Jeavon for plugging my work on this.

    I got Mads Kristensen to pick up my starting point & finish it off, so I recommend you set this URL for the schema: http://json.schemastore.org/package.manifest

    Thanks,
    Warren

  • Lee 1130 posts 3088 karma points
    Oct 01, 2015 @ 08:51
    Lee
    1

    @soren just change this line

    javascript: [
            '~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js'
        ]
    

    to this

    "javascript": [
            "~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js"
        ]
    
  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies