Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• mike 90 posts 258 karma points
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 20:12
    mike

How do you give access to your clients?

I am new to umbraco and have started using v7 for a clients site.  I am at the point now where I need to set up the admin side for them but I dont want them to see everything, just the parts that they need to edit.

Do you make your own templates for admin area and then create code for them to update with API or do you modify/restrict the existing admin.

The client is a non-technical user that needs things as simple as possible.

• Sören Deger 733 posts 2844 karma points c-trib
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 20:24
    Sören Deger

Hi Mike,

you must separate the two login types: Umbraco Users for the cms umbraco backend or Members for a password protected frontend.

You can settingsyour backend users in the user section of umbraco. And you can setting your members in the members section of umbraco.

Here is a short introduction for members. It's described with umbraco 4 or 6, but the basics are the same as in umbraco 7:

https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Using-Umbraco/Backoffice-Overview/Members/

Best,

Sören

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 20:29
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mike

You can restrict what areas the users can see.

Depending on what type of user you need to give access you should consider to restrict the sections they can access.

Even though Umbraco comes with some predefined user types but usually you want to define your own "Administrator" type for your clients editors.

So for instance your clients editor matrix could look like this (from high level to low level)

Administrator - Can access "Content", "Media" and "Users". Editor - Can access "Content" and "Media" Writer - Can access "Content"