Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Peter Cort Larsen 421 posts 1038 karma points
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 11:57
    Peter Cort Larsen
    1

    Images are scaled in RTE umbraco 7

    Hi,

    When i insert an image into the RTE of umbraco 7 of size 500 x 300 (landscape), the size are saved correct.

    But when i insert an image of size 500 x 573 (Portrait) it is downscaled to 436px × 500px.

    In version 4 you could specify 'Maximum default size of inserted images' in the RTE datatype.

    Is there somewhere i can control this setting to avoid the downscaling?

  • Anders Brohäll 295 posts 561 karma points c-trib
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:49
    Anders Brohäll
    0

    Having the same problem.
    Is the config moved or is it just not implemented yet?

    Is there an issue about this?

  • Peter Cort Larsen 421 posts 1038 karma points
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:23
    Peter Cort Larsen
    101

    Hi,

    Didnt hear anything from anybody.

    What i did was to write some jquery to handle the image width.

    If the width is lower than the max. width it scales the images.

    //Ensure images allways are 500 px wide.
    function scaleImagesInContent() {
    
     $('.contentContainer span img').each(function() {
            var maxWidth = 500; // Max width for the image
    
            var ratio = 0;  // Used for aspect ratio
            var width = $(this).width();    // Current image width
            var height = $(this).height();  // Current image height
    
            // Check if the current width is larger than the max
            if(width < maxWidth){
                ratio = maxWidth / width;   // get ratio for scaling image
                $(this).css("width", maxWidth); // Set new width
                $(this).css("height", height * ratio);  // Scale height based on ratio
                height = height * ratio;    // Reset height to match scaled image
            }
    
        });
    }
     
  • Ben 112 posts 398 karma points
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 19:34
    Ben
    1

    Hi Peter, 

    Thanks for the code, it got me to thinking how I would accomplish this on my site.  In case anyone is interested, I did the following to set the image max width in my content area:

       /*adjust any resized images in the content area*/
        $("#divContentContainer section article img").each(function(){
            if($(this).height() == 500 || $(this).width() == 500){ //check for resized images
                $(this).css({"height":"auto","width":"auto"});
    
                if($(this).width() > 612){ //check for images over the new maximum width
                    $(this).css({"width":"612px"});
                }
            }
        });
    
  • Johan 188 posts 380 karma points
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:32
    Johan
    0

    Is this a bug? Your solutions works great but it still look like bad in the RTE.

  • Peter Cort Larsen 421 posts 1038 karma points
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:39
    Peter Cort Larsen
    0

    Whom are you asking a question?

  • Anders Brohäll 295 posts 561 karma points c-trib
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:42
    Anders Brohäll
    0

    Theres been some discussions abput it in the issue tracker: http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-4729 http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-4718 http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-3933

    etc.

  • Comment author was deleted

    Jul 22, 2014 @ 20:16

    Ran across this today.  Good work gents.  The hack worked.

    All, please vote: http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-4729

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft