Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Micah Redding 7 posts 50 karma points
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 16:14
    Micah Redding

New project: Umbraco 6 or Umbraco 7?

Hi,

I'm new to Umbraco, and .net CMSs in general. I'm about to start a new basic CMS project, and am trying to decide which system to build it in.

Beyond basic CMS requirements, I'll need to embed videos, use several custom contact forms, and do some external API integration (with the user authentication and login system).

Is Umbraco 7 a solid choice for these requirements? Or should I use Umbraco 6, or something else entirely?

Thanks!

• Alex Skrypnyk 6133 posts 23952 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 16:20
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Micah,

We are using umbraco 6, because 7 isn't so stable as 6 now.

Thanks

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15477 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 16:44
    Sebastiaan Janssen

@Alex Curious as to where stability is a problem for you?

@Micah I would definitely recommend v7 for your needs then. Embedding videos is built in, creating contact forms can either be done through Contour or written in MVC, external APIs can also be accessed using MVC (like any "normal" API integration you'd do in .net) and the backoffice experience for the end-users (editors of the site) is much better in v7.

The APIs that are available in v7 are the exact same ones as for v6, so the only real difference is the backoffice built on top of those APIs.

Of course I'm biased but if you're starting fresh and with these requirements then there's no problem in using the rock solid APIs and the user friendly new backoffice.

• Graeme W 113 posts 289 karma points
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 15:15
    Graeme W

I can't comment on the stability of v7 but experience tells me that with major upgrades of any software there will always be a few teething troubles that will take a few releases to iron out.