Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• mico 10 posts 30 karma points
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 00:49
    mico

Creating a Navigation Menu with .NET usercontrol

First hey everyone, im new with Umbraco.

As a .NET developer im trying to avoid using the xslts at all and instead, use .NET UserControls as Macros.

I want to create a UC which displays the different pages handled in the content area under the Umbraco system as my navigation menu. I know that I can easily achieve this by using xsltwith few clicks if i create a Navigation prototype, but i want to use .NET controls. Im trying to figure how this should be done considering the i fact my usercontrol should somehow know the different pages it should display. Where do i get this data from and also, are there any normal examples for .NET developers ? I can't really find advanced examples.

• Graeme W 113 posts 289 karma points
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 10:26
    Graeme W

Hi Mico.

No need to use xlst - you could try having a look at a couple of the starter kits. uBootstrap and the Standard website starter kits both use Razor\C# to build up menus based on your content nodes I've only got these running on Version 6 but the functionality should be the same on v7 I think

http://our.umbraco.org/projects/starter-kits/ubootstrap

http://our.umbraco.org/projects/starter-kits/standard-website-mvc

Jan 30, 2014 @ 10:42
    mico

Thank you Graeme W I have just downloaded the files you pointed at. My only concern now is why the zip files doesn't contain the folder hierarchy? all the files are completly flattern into one folder, i'd like to test this but not sure if i should manually copy them to the correct places (I don't see any documentation..)

• Graeme W 113 posts 289 karma points
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:24
    Graeme W