Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Raphael Müller 4 posts 34 karma points
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 20:08
    Raphael Müller

Content flexibility

Dear Umbraco community,

I started developing a test website with Umbraco a few days ago. As a developer I like the concept of being able to control every single character that a website will output. We currently use DNN (DotNetNuke) to create websites, and I may be restricted in the way of thinking how to organize content because DNN has a very different approach.

It was very easy to get a  Umbraco website up and running and creating a layout with templates and a few document types. But now I am stuck while planning the document types. The customer wants a quite flexible way to add content to a single page, let me explain this with an example page setup:

• Some text describing the page (rich text)
    • A Video (Youtube)
    • Some text describing some other things (richt text)
    • An image gallery
    • Some text describing something (richt text)
    • Again a video

The customer should be able to place these pieces on one page (rich text, video, gallery). He should be able to control the order of the pieces in every possible way and also have an unlimited amount of "pieces" on one page.

In DNN this would be possible with so-called "modules" a user can drag onto the page while having the possibility to change the order. Each module can define its own output (for example, there may be a Youtube video module where the user inputs a Youtube url and the module takes care of inserting an iframe of that video on the page).