Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Beau D'Amore 29 posts 70 karma points
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:24
    Beau D'Amore

WebAndMobile starter kit duplicates meta description and no title

Hello,

I am using U7, with WebAndMobile starter kit.. Upon checking the source html after rendering in any browser, I find the meta desription tag is duplicated and no title tag...

I think the "metatags.cshtml" scripting file is the suspect, but since I am an umbraco noob, I am at an impass.

In the following code, stepping through, as the conditional that checks 'Parameter.metaType' it is ALWAYS BLANK..?

Here's the current code for "metatags.cshtml":

@{

var page = Model;    

var itemsPerPage = Parameter.metaType;  

var metaTitle = page.metaTitle;

var metaDescription = page.metaDescription;  

foreach(var level in page.Ancestors())

{

if(metaTitle.ToString() == string.Empty)

{

metaTitle = level.metaTitle;

}

if(metaDescription.ToString() == string.Empty)

{

metaDescription  = level.metaDescription;

}

}

if (Parameter.metaType == "metatitle") //<== Parameter.metaType is always blank, no matter what

{

<title>@metaTitle</title>

}

else

{

<meta name="description" content="@metaDescription"/>

}

}

All my pages have titles and descriptions and the original dev who made this is unresponsive to emails.

Ideas, please?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 23:22
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Beau

I just installed the skin on a fresh 7.1RC and the above behaviour appears to be a bug in the package.

I'm not sure why "title" is never rendered but if it was it would also be displayed twice since the same macro is being called twice with different parameters and the logic in the code simply does not work.