Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Utte 7 posts 27 karma points
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 15:46
    Utte

Easiest way to get www.x.com/article/name

Hi! I'm new to Umbraco and are looking for advice. I want to know the easiest and best way in Umbraco to show article details on a site with the article name in the URL.

For example: I have a database with a Artists table. I have a page on my site with a list of the artists. When i click on one artist i want to get to "www.x.com/artists/artistname" with artist details.

Any suggestions?

/Utte

• Chris Perks 32 posts 114 karma points
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 16:17
    Chris Perks

Umbraco will, by default, look for an item on the content tree that follows the convention:

Content
    --> Artists
    ----> Artist 1
    ----> Artist 2
    ----> Artist 3

And so on. If those items don't actually exist as Umbraco content items, then you'll want to create some standard MVC controllers which fetch data from your database and populate a view - essentially bypassing Umbraco's processing.

You can tell Umbraco not to process certain Url's by using the umbracoReservedPaths setting in your Web.Config:

<add key="umbracoReservedPaths" value="~/umbraco,~/install/,~/artists" />

At this point, you're free to set up your own MVC routes and controllers, just like you would in any other project.

Apr 03, 2014 @ 21:21
    Utte

Thank you Chris, I will try it out tomorrow.

• Robert Mulder 79 posts 272 karma points c-trib
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 21:45
    Robert Mulder

At the risk of hijacking a thread I have a similar question. Lets say in the above example you'd have Umbraco set up like this:

Content
    --> Artists
     ----> Artist

Where Artist is a page where I'd like to display the content of a table completely unrelated to Umbraco. I could ofcourse use query string variables to differentiate:

/Artists/Artist/?id=1234