Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Christine 115 posts 288 karma points
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 18:38
    Christine

How to connect custom data type dropdown list with styles

Hello,

I'm trying to create a control that allows the user to select a background style in the back office (Content Section).  If the user selects Orange, the background on a banner displays the Orange css styles, and if they select Blue, the Blue css styles.

I created a Data Type Dropdown list with the values Blue and Orange and connected it to a Property on the master page, but I have no idea how to make the styles render based on what they use chooses.

I'm usinging Umbraco 7 and developing in Visual Studio.

I'm not a developer so if possible please explain like i'm 5 ;)

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 20:18
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Christine

I'll try and see if I can explain this in a very simple way :)

Ok...In Umbraco there is a developer section. Go to "Developer". In this section there is a folder called "Data types", right click this folder and choose "Create".

• Go to the developer section in Umbraco
    • Right click the "Data types" folder
    • Provide a name for your datatype in the dialogue that appears
    • Now you will see a dropdown list of possible data types / property editors that you can choose from. Choose then one called "Dropdown list" and hit the blue "save" icon.
    • Now there is a field called "Add prevalue". Here you can write "Orange" and hit enter
    • The value of "Orange" is entered and you have a new input field where you can add a new value. Repeat and hit save when all the values you need are entered.
    • Congrats! You have created the data type - Now let's add it to a document type

• Go to the "Settings" section

• Go to your document type of choise (The one where you need this property)