Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 13:05
    Jason Espin

Versioning CSS and Javascript files automatically in Umbraco 7

I'm new to both .NET development and Umbraco due to recently starting a new role where I will be working heavily with both. As usual before starting development I am looking for some shortcut or helper functions that will enable me to work more productively. One set of helper functions I have found I have included below:

public static string DatedContent(this UrlHelper urlHelper, string contentPath)
    {
      var datedPath = new StringBuilder(contentPath);
      datedPath.AppendFormat("{0}m={1}",
          contentPath.IndexOf('?') >= 0 ? '&' : '?',
          getModifiedDate(contentPath));
          return urlHelper.Content(datedPath.ToString());
    }

private static string getModifiedDate(string contentPath)
    {
        return System.IO.File.GetLastWriteTime(HostingEnvironment.MapPath(contentPath)).ToString("yyyyMMddhhmmss");
    }

The functions above are called as follows:

<script src="@Url.DatedContent("~/scripts/product.js")"></script>

The aim of these functions is to automatically version Javascript and CSS files to ensure that the latest versions of each JavaScript and CSS file are pulled through by appending a modified date query string to the end of the file references.

My issue here is, and I apologise that this is such a newbie question, but where do I put this function in Umbraco 7 or is this functionality already supported?

From what I have learnt so far, content pages all have some base properties that include date created and date modified however CSS and Script files do not have these properties so I cannot simply reference these object properties using inline Razor code and condense them with the ToString method as I am doing the functions above.