Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• DaveC 8 posts 28 karma points
    May 11, 2014 @ 07:23
    DaveC

What's the difference between UmbracoCms.7.1.2.zip and NuGet 7.1.2 and Why doesn't VS2013 publish Umbraco.sdf to my hosting site?

Hello Umbraco community!  I'm new to the world of Umbraco CMS and this is my first post....

I'm trying to understand the difference between the two downloads of Umbraco (currently v7.1.2.)  I’d appreciate anyone who can tell me why I would want one over the other.  Thanks!

As far as I know, Umbraco is downloaded as a zip file called UmbracoCms.7.1.2.zip, and the other is downloaded directly into an empty Visual Studio project via NuGet.  I am using VS Express 2013 Web and have the latest ASP.NET 4.5 and dependencies, etc.  I also have the latest WebMatrix 3.  I can also install Umbraco with Microsoft Web Platform Installer.

To get oriented with Umbraco, I am not adding anything to the project - just out of the box software.  So far, I can run Umbraco locally on my PC by unzipping UmbracoCms.7.1.2.zip into a folder.  I can run it with WebMatrix or Visual Studio. Visual Studio has to open it as a website and not as a project.  I can deploy/publish Umbraco to WinHost and it runs on the web.  Also can publish with Visual Studio.  So far, so good.

Now I come to the problem, which is with Visual Studio and Umbraco downloaded from NuGet.  I can run Umbraco from Visual Studio in a browser locally on my PC, but when I publish it to the web hosting site, it fails.  (I have trust level = Full.)  The problem is that the default SQL CE database file does not get uploaded - nor does a number of other files.