Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Madison James 31 posts 147 karma points
    May 11, 2014 @ 08:53
    Madison James

Links below Home do not display properly in Fresh Install of 7.1.2

I'm new to Umbraco and I have an odd issue that I hope someone can help with. I'm using Windows7 and use VS2012 but have tried testing with Web Matrix and this happens either way.I have installed 7.1.2 and told it to use a starter site and all the pages below Home display properly such as the following http://localhost:50257/services/.When I do a fresh install without a starter site and build everything from the ground up the following link http://localhost:50257/services/ will display a page with no CSS or proper formatting, but http://localhost:50257/services will work perfectly.I have set umbracoUseDirectoryUrls to false in webconfig and the home page links work but the .aspx is added to the end of the page such as http://localhost:50257/services.aspx.I very familiar with MVC but cannot figure out where to look within the umbraco settings if I even knew what was different.The only other difference between the 2 sites structure wise is that I let the starter site use it's own database and I set up a blank db in SQL Express when not choosing to use a starter site.Any ideas or help would be deeply appreciated.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 11, 2014 @ 11:49
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Madison and welcome to our :)

Could you perhaps try to illustrate your issue using screendumps? I think it will make it a bit more clear what it is you're struggling with currently.

In regards to the css issue you should reference it with an absolute path like <link rel="style" href="/css/mystyle.css" /> for instance.

/Jan

May 13, 2014 @ 09:27
    Madison James

Hi Jan, thanks for the reply. CSS is being referenced absolutely.

This is Home, works fine