Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 15:14
    Robert Dyson
    0

    Tags Data Type in Umbraco 7

    I can't seem to get the tags data type to workin in Umbraco 7. Am I missing something?

    I add the datatype to a document type and there is no option to add the tags?

    Is there any documentation / demo on how to do this? In the Umbraco.tv video it seems to skip over this data type.

    Any help is appreciated!

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:01
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Robert

    What exact version of 7 are you currently using?

    /Jan

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:04
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi again

    I just gave this a quick spin on Umbraco 7.1.1 in Google Chrome and it seems to be working fine?

    Could you perhaps post a screendump of your issue as well?

    /Jan

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:19
    Robert Dyson
    0

    I'm using 7.1.2

    I don't see any button on the right to sumbit the tags? If I write a tag and click save, nothing happens.

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:24
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Robert

    It's because there is no button.

    And the placeholder text that says "Type to add tags" is almost invisible. That should be improved in future releases.

    But the way the property editor works is that you simply just start typing your tag name. Once you hit enter a blue "box" appears, with a delete button. There is your tag. You just write and hit enter to add more tags.

    Hope this helps.

    /Jan

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:30
    Robert Dyson
    0

    Hmm.

    I've tried that.. I start typing and when I hit enter nothing happens.

    I'm using Chrome, so I tried Firefox...

    When I click on the box I get the error "Empty string passed to getElementById()."

    But still no blue box :(

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:31
    Robert Dyson
    0

    I tried this in 7.1.1 and it seems to work fine... Can you get it to work in 7.1.2?

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:35
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Robert

    Hmm, ok - then it's possibly a bug.

    I'm on my way out but if you can wait for me to test tonight then I'll try to spin up a 7.1.2 instance and see if I get the same issue.

    Cheers, Jan

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:47
    Robert Dyson
    1

    Thanks Jan,

    I'll wait for you to test, then if it is a bug I will submit a ticket.

    Rob

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 22:57
    Jan Skovgaard
    100

    Hi Rob

    Just made a test on 7.1.2 and I can confirm that it does not work in this build. In the console log I just see it writes "open" sometimes.

    I'll add a vote when you have submitted the ticket.

    Cheers, Jan

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 13, 2014 @ 23:25
    Robert Dyson
    1

    Thanks Jan,

    It seems a ticket was submitted today a couple of hours again.

    http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-4881

    Thanks for your assistance.

    What's the best way to roll back to 7.1.1? Do I just replace the Umbraco and Umbraco Client folders and remove the version number in the Web.config?

    Regards,

    Rob

  • Jan Skovgaard 11232 posts 23315 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    May 14, 2014 @ 08:29
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Robert

    You're welcome.

    Hmmm...I have actually never tried to rollback a solution before like that since we're using Mercurial at work so I just go back to a working revision.

    But if I should do a rollback I would first backup everything and then go down the path you mention yourself.

    However I would also copy over the /bin folder as well.

    /Jan

  • Robert Dyson 50 posts 147 karma points c-trib
    May 14, 2014 @ 08:31
    Robert Dyson
    0

    Thanks, I'll give it a try.

  • MarcinZ 4 posts 25 karma points
    May 14, 2014 @ 11:51
    MarcinZ
    0

    oh gosh. I really was looking forward to 7.1.2 release. Now what's left is to choose between:

    • use 7.1.1 in which autocomplete control does not work
    • use 7.1.2 in which autocomplete control is working fine but tags cannot be added from UI..
  • zell 37 posts 88 karma points
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 03:08
    zell
    0

    deleted my comment because its working now.

    if anyone like me found this post because you think its not working.. type in a tag and press "Enter" after it to store the tag :)

    simples

    umbraco 7.1.6

  • andrew shearer 349 posts 444 karma points
    Jan 27, 2015 @ 22:50
    andrew shearer
    0

    hello - is there a dashboard control for managing the tags created via this datatype?

     

  • Heather Floyd 476 posts 608 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 15:46
Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft