Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Chris Lord 15 posts 51 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 13:26
    Chris Lord
    0

    Content Service - Dropdown Datatype

    Hi All,

    I have created a data type called "Gearbox Type" which is using the drop down list editor, and has the following values;

    • Manual
    • Automatic
    I have added a property to my "Gearbox" Doc Type which uses this Data Type. I am migrating data from an old system, and I need to populate this when creating the content using the content service. My code is;

    var cs = Services.ContentService;
    var c = cs.CreateContent("Chris Test", 1267, "Gearbox");
    c.SetValue("historicId", "12345"); - this is a text string
    c.SetValue("gearbox", "Manual"); - this is my dropdown
    c.SetValue("forwardGears", "10"); - this is a text string
    cs.Publish(c);

    When the content is created, the text string properties are saved OK, but my dropdown value is not selected. If I inspect the element I can see the Id's of each option and if I try the following, it doesn't work either;

    c.SetValue("gearbox", 1) or c.SetValue("gearbox", "1");

    What am I doing wrong here, has anyone done this before and can help out?

    Cheers

    Chris

  • awm 187 posts 376 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 14:40
    awm
    0

    Well in case it's of any help I figured out a solution to my problem. You can see it here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/18900069/updating-a-property-using-the-content-service-api-in-umbraco-6-x

  • Chris Lord 15 posts 51 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:05
    Chris Lord
    0

    Thanks I saw your post, I can't seem to get this working whether I use the ID or the Description. When you say ID, I assume you mean the value, which Umbraco creates, I can't specifiy the ID in the UI, I can just add the description?

    If I try and access the property @Umbraco.Content(1316).GearBox, the value is returned, so it's storing in the database, but I need to have it selected for the content administrator!

     

  • Chris Lord 15 posts 51 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:06
    Chris Lord
    0

    What version of Umbraco are you using ? I am 7.1.4

  • awm 187 posts 376 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:39
    awm
    0

    I was using version 6.x although I wouldn't have thought it'd made much difference since AFAIK the process isn't any different in 7? (someone please correct me if I'm wrong)

  • Chris Lord 15 posts 51 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:47
    Chris Lord
    0

    Yeah , I think I have found the issue, I need to get the ID of the prevalue from the cmsdatatypeprevalues table, and use that ID when using the setvalue, I think there is a way to get that based on the text, so will look into it, thanks for your time in responding to my post

  • awm 187 posts 376 karma points
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:51
    awm
    0

    No worries - I was on the verge of tearing out handfuls of hair trying to figure this one out.. I just hope I can spare someone else the pain, haha.

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies