Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Beau D'Amore 29 posts 70 karma points
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 20:39
    Beau D'Amore

Google-friendly URLs and Custom Controllers

I'm very new to Umbraco so please forgive.

I need to have friendly URLs in my site. URLs like maryruns.com/umbraco/Surface/TrackHistory/Tracks/123. (preferably without the 'umbraco/surface' but that's another matter)

NOT like maryruns.com/members and then use a partialview to call my SurfaceController.. this DOES WORK, but it is not acceptable if I want the friendly URLs. I have several other threads basically asking the same thing, but I think the complexity of the world obfuscates my questions...

BACKGROUND:

-v7

-I'm using SQL Server DB with a LINQtoSQLClasses.dbml to access my custom tables for GPS location data. (These tables were added manually to the DB and are used by APIControllers for the iOS app to push the GPS data from a runner's track up to the server, which works well. There are no matching doc-types, not sure if they're needed in some way)

-Using the Umbraco starter kit

So, I made a surfaceController Called 'TrackHistory' with an action called 'Tracks' that takes an UmbracoMemberID as a QS param. so hitting maryruns.com/TrackHistory/Tracks/123 works GREAT, HOWEVER it doesn't have any styling. It's a bare skeleton of the action action output like you see here.

I need this URL to work WITH the _Layout.cshtml but it does not.

If I have @inherits UmbracoTemplatePage in my view, it bombs because it is not the strongly-typed model and model.whatever is unaccessable in my view

if I have @inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoViewPage<IEnumerable<MaryRuns.Models.TRACK>>

OR

If I have @model IEnumerableTRACKLocation> which is my strongly-typed model, it works fine (albeit bare like the above pic) until I then try to add:

@{   

Layout = "_Layout.cshtml";

}