Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Michael Ambler 8 posts 28 karma points
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 16:48
    Michael Ambler

Media Links in Umbraco 7

Hi 

I'm new to Umbraco and using version 7. I'm having a problem with links to media files (pdf) breaking when a revised document is added to a media item. So when version 2 of a doc comes along I don't want to repost to all the pages referencing it I just want to update the media item and all links get the new file.

I would have thought this was fairly standard stuff within any CMS but my Developer tells me that default behaviour within Umbraco 7 is that the link breaks and you have to edit all links pointing to that file. This leaves me no further on than editing the website manually.

Can anyone confirm if this is a bug or just how Umbraco works..??

Thanks

• Dan Lister 416 posts 1974 karma points c-trib
    Jul 23, 2014 @ 18:33
    Dan Lister

Hi Michael,

That sounds unusual. If you are referencing a media item by it's ID then you should be able to retrieve the current Url of the media item, regardless of whether the physical file name has changed or not:

@Umbraco.TypedMedia(Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<int>("alias")).Url;

What property type are you using to select the media item? How are you rendering your media item on a template?

Thanks, Dan.

• Stephen 94 posts 255 karma points
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 03:32
    Stephen

Hi Michael,

I take it this is actually happening for you, they are breaking, you haven't just been told they will break.

What process are you using to update the PDF?

And how have you linked to the PDF (what process have you used)?

Thanks

Stephen

Jul 24, 2014 @ 10:41
    Michael Ambler