Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mads Peter Henderson 3 posts 23 karma points
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 14:03
    Mads Peter Henderson

V7.2 build 133 Can't get tags to work

Hi.

First of all, I am new to Umbraco, so this might just be me doing things wrong.

I am trying to use the Tags datatype to create a taxonomy for my content.

So what I did was create a new Documenttype and add a generic property of Type Tags.

When I create new content based on the documenttype, my property displays and asks me to "Type to add tags" in a typeahead input field.

I am allowed to type what ever i want, but nothing gets saved. I do not get any type ahead suggestions either, but that is not supprising, since I haven't been able to create any tags.

I cant see any javascript errors in the console.

Is there something I am missing in my setup, og is this a bug in the bleading edge version?

Thx in advance

Mads

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 14:23
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mads and welcome to our :)

When you write something do you then hit "Enter" when you finish writing?

The way the datatype is working is a bit tricky but if I remember correctly you need to either hit enter or simply hit space so you can write more tags at a time. Then each time either enter or space is hit the tag should be saved and be visible...

Hope this helps and makes sense.

/Jan

Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:18
    Mads Peter Henderson

Hi Jan.

It does make sense, after looking into the angular code for the editor I think I see how it is intended to work.

I think there is a bug here, which is related to getting the input to support a number of different features with type ahead, and Facebook style tags.

In my setup I haven't created any tags yet. So there are no type ahead suggestions that I can pick from using enter or space.